Urban Dérive

For the Dérive part of the space project, I decided that I would make my own Dérive instead of the ones that were given.
The instructions of my Dérive are simple:
You have two dice, can be a dice generator or two actual dices. Whatever number you land on you must do a specific thing. For this I created specific actions that I had to do if I rolled on a specific number and I would have to follow that number until I had either finished what that action was or the time was up for me to stop.
Here were the actions and numbers that I had written down before leaving the house.
#2 – Go straight and turn left and continue on for 1 minute.
#3 – Turn back, and walk to where you were last time.
#4 – Spin around three times and go where-ever your left foot points towards for 1 minute.
#5 – Find the nearest round about, go around it once and keep going right for 1 minute.
#6 – Keep going straight for 2 minutes.
#7 – Go straight and turn right and continue on for 1 minute.
#8 – Stop for 1 minute.
#9 – Walk backwards until you reach an end point (meaning walk until you physically are stopped by a certain object.)
#10 – Go back to the house.
#11 – Go straight until you find a sign.
#12 – Walk forwards towards the nearest bench.

At the beginning of my journey I had with me my camera to take photos and video of the places that I had been to, a pen with a notebook with my numbers and actions, so that I could record what roll I was on, and also my phone which had a dice generator.
In total on the entire journey I had rolled 17 times, and I was outside for around almost two hours. In the footage that I took , I talk about how I wasn’t sure on how many rolls I was going to be doing and even wanted to do 30-50 rolls. This would have taken me much more than two hours. But before starting my journey I had decided that if I was going to roll on 10, which was [go back to the house] that, that would be the end of my journey.

At the beginning I started at my house and rolled from there.
I landed on #7 – Go straight and turn right and continue on for 1 minute. and I also on my second roll landed on this, and on the third roll I landed on #3 – Turn back, and walk to where you were last time.These were the surroundings that I had saw in my first three rolls.
IMG_0267IMG_0266IMG_0263IMG_0261IMG_0262IMG_0264

On my fourth roll I landed on #9 – Walk backwards until you reach an end point (meaning walk until you physically are stopped by a certain object.) At this point I was in front of a lamp post and I had to walk back until I hit on of the bushes.
IMG_0283 IMG_0296 IMG_0311 IMG_0312

Fifth roll: #7 – Go straight and turn right and continue on for 1 minute.
Sixth roll: #11 – Go straight until you find a sign.
IMG_0316

Seventh roll: #8 – Stop for 1 minute.
Eighth roll: #5 – Find the nearest round about, go around it once and keep going right for 1 minute.
On the eighth roll, I had to try and find a round about from here, it was quite difficult because of the fact I didn’t know this area even though I actually lived in this space, there were a lot of different things I hadn’t seen before, and when I arrived at a round about I found some unexpected beauties in the tree above in the middle of the round about.
IMG_0329 IMG_0331 IMG_0334 IMG_0335

Ninth roll: #9 – Walk backwards until you reach an end point (meaning walk until you physically are stopped by a certain object.) At this point the object that stopped me was a fence.
Tenth roll: #12 – Walk forwards towards the nearest bench.
By the time I got to the tenth roll I began to document my journey with Video in stead of just taking photos, because I felt like I was getting more out of it. Unfortunately due to the fact that MOV cannot upload to my blog I cannot put it on.
Whilst I was walking to the nearest bench I was surprised on how I have never see certain places around my area before, and yet these places were so close to were my house was. By the time I finally found a bench it was actually outside someones house on their veranda.
Eleventh roll: #9 – Walk backwards until you reach an end point (meaning walk until you physically are stopped by a certain object.)
Twelfth roll: #8 – Stop for 1 minute.
Thirteenth roll: #5 – Find the nearest round about, go around it once and keep going right for 1 minute.
By this time I had completely seen a part of my area that I had never seen before and I was amazed on how beautiful the area was and that I had never been there.
Fourteenth roll: #7 – Go straight and turn right and continue on for 1 minute.
It was so interesting to find out it was actually on the other side of where I have been before.
Fifteenth roll: #4 – Spin around three times and go where-ever your left foot points towards for 1 minute.
Sixteenth roll: #6 – Keep going straight for 2 minutes.
Final roll: #10 – Go back to the house.
By this time I had gone very far from my house, and I tried to follow the places where I had been all the way back to my house.
I had realized on this journey that I hadn’t been outside of my house in a very long time, and hadn’t seen anything clearly for sometime, and by the time I got home I was reflecting on the places that were so new to me in an area I had lived in for practically my entire life. It was interesting in a way that I had gone to more new places, than places I knew of.
It was quite a interesting and beautiful journey because it was also a lovely day.

Leave a Reply

